Tom Bennett


Term Ends December 2021

Tom Bennett was elected to Council in 2013.

Tom and his wife Jayne moved to Southern Shores in 2002 to a home they built in 1990. Tom has served our community as a Board member and President of the SSCA, as Commodore of the Boat Club and more recently as the Project Manager, for the Town, of Phase One of our canal dredge. He is an active member of the Caring Hands Ministry of Duck United Methodist Church.

He is a graduate of Lynchburg College in Virginia, served nine years as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Navy, two years in home construction and sales and for over thirty years owned and managed his own company in Northern Virginia.

Tom and Jayne have been married for fifty two years, have two daughters and five grandchildren who visit regularly.



Jim Conners

Council Member

Term Ends December 2021

Jim was born in Roswell, New Mexico as the son of a career Air Force serviceman. He travelled the world with his family and ended up in Prince George’s County, Maryland where he graduated high school. Upon graduation from high school he joined the U. S. Marine Corps where he again travelled extensively throughout the Far East and Europe. After two tours of duty, he then enrolled in the University of Georgia where in 1985 he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Landscape Architecture.

Jim initially worked as a land planner and landscape architect for 10 years in Architect/Engineering firms in South Carolina and Georgia. Shortly after moving to Southern Shores, he started his own landscape architectural, land planning and environmental consulting firm. He is currently registered as a landscape architect in North Carolina and has previously been registered in South Carolina, Georgia and Virginia.

Jim has always been involved in community volunteerism. In Southern Shores this has included four years (1 year as president) on the Southern Shores Civic Association’s (SSCA) board, two years on the Town’s Capital Improvement Committee, and as an alternate member on the Planning Board. He has also volunteered with Habitat for Humanity, Dare Literacy and other organizations outside of Southern Shores.

Jim, his wife Leckie and daughter Skye moved to the Outer Banks in 1995. They acted as their own general contractor and built their home on Duck Woods Drive, where they have lived since early 1996.


Leo Holland

Council Member

Term Ends December 2023

Leo and his wife, Mary Ellen, moved to Southern Shores in August 2001.  Leo began his public service as Membership Chairman, Vice President, Southern Shores Civic Association for two years and then as President for four years.  He served as Social Commodore of the Southern Shores Boat Club for two years.  He also served on the Chicahauk Property Owners Association for two years.  Leo also served on the Town of Southern Shores Board of Adjustments.  He serves on the Association of Equipment Management Professionals Editorial Board. Leo serviced on the Town Council from 2013-2017. Also, he served as Assistant Treasurer and Assistant Chairman of the Dare County Tourism Board from 2015-2017.

Prior to moving to Southern Shores, Leo worked for the John Deere Construction & Forestry Division for 39 years.  He held a number of positions in finance, product support and sales.  He has retired from being a part-time consultant for James River Equipment in Ashland, VA.

Leo is a graduate of the University Wisconsin – Platteville, Wisconsin with majors in Agriculture Education and Economics.

Elizabeth Morey

Mayor pro tem

Term Ends December 2023

Elizabeth has been a full-time resident of Southern Shores for the last 16 years.  She and her husband, Tommy have been visiting the Outer Banks since 1982 and purchased their lot in the Town in 2000.  After working with an architect to design their home they completed construction in 2004 and moved to Southern Shores from Raleigh.  She earned her BS degree from Clemson in Forest Management and her MS degree from NC State University in Soil Science.  She has worked in both the private and public sector and retired from the Dare County Health Department in 2014.  She currently owns and manages a home-based business.

Elizabeth has served on the Town Planning Board for 8 years and been the Chair since January of 2019.  She has also served on the Town’s Board of Adjustment, the Capital Improvement and Infrastructure Planning Committee and the SSCA Hillcrest Tennis Board.  She and Tommy have also volunteered for the sea turtle programs with the USF&W Service, Roanoke Island Aquarium, and the Beach Food Pantry.