
Spring and summer are fast 

approaching and as the 

weather starts warming up, 

the amount of bicycle and 

pedestrian traffic will in-

crease. As such, it’s a good 

idea to remember these im-

portant points: 

 

In North Carolina, the 

bicycle has the legal sta-

tus of a vehicle. This 

means that bicyclists have 

full rights and responsi-

bilities on the roadway 

and are subject to the 

regulations governing the 

operation of a motor vehi-

cle. 

North Carolina traffic 

laws require bicyclists to: 

 Ride on the right in the 

same direction as other traf-

fic 

 Obey all traffic signs 

and signals 

 Use hand signals to 

communicate intended 

movements 

 Equip their bicycles 

with a front lamp visible 

from 300 feet and a rear 

reflector that is visible from 

a distance of 200 feet when 

riding at night. 

 Wear a bicycle helmet 

on public roads, public paths 

and public rights-of-way if 

the bicyclists is under 16 

years old 

     Secure child passengers 

in a child seat or bicycle 

trailer if under 40 pounds or 

40 inches. 

In North Carolina, the 

bicycle has the legal sta-

tus of a vehicle. This 

means that bicyclists have 

full rights and responsi-

bilities on the roadway 

and are subject to the 

regulations governing the 

operation of a motor vehi-

cle. 

Read the Laws Related to 

the Operation of a Bicycle 

Laws Guidebook – Bicy-

clists and the Law 

NC Driver’s Handbook (See 

Bicycles in Chapter 6) 

 

Under North Carolina 

law, pedestrians have the 

right of way at all inter-

sections and driveways. 

However, pedestrians 

must act responsibly, us-

ing pedestrian signals 

where they are available. 

When crossing the road at 

any other point than a 

marked or unmarked 

crosswalk or when walk-

ing along or upon a high-

way, a pedestrian has a 

statutory duty to yield the 

right of way to all vehi-

cles on the roadway. It is 

the duty of pedestrians to 

look before starting 

across a highway, and in 

the exercise of reasonable 

care for their own safety, 

to keep a timely lookout 

for approaching motor 

vehicle traffic. On road-

ways where there is no 

sidewalk, pedestrians 

should always walk fac-

ing traffic. 

Read Pedestrian-Related 

Laws 

Laws Guidebook – Pedestri-

ans and the Law 

NC Driver’s Handbook (See 

Pedestrians in Chapter 6) 

 

Laws pertaining to the oper-

ation of a bicycle vary from 

state to state. Below are 

three issues of bicycling that 

North Carolina law currently 

does not clarify. 

 

 Bicycling on Interstate 

or fully controlled limited 

access highways, such as 

beltlines, is prohibited by 

policy, unless otherwise 

specified by action of the 

Board of Transportation. 

Currently, the only excep-

tion to the policy is the US 

17 bridge over the Chowan 

River between Chowan and 

Bertie Counties. 

 There is no law that 

requires bicyclists to ride 

single file, nor is there a law 

that gives cyclists the right 

to ride two or more abreast. 

It is important to ride re-

sponsibly and courteously, 

so that cars may pass safely. 

     There is no law that 

prohibits wearing head-

phones when riding a bicy-

cle; however, it is not rec-

ommended. It is important to 

use all your senses to ensure 

your safety when riding in 

traffic. 

 

For more information, please 

go to: 

 

http://www.ncdot.gov/bikep

ed/lawspolicies/laws/ 
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are home.     

Close and lock garage doors and win-

dows. Ask a neighbor to occasionally 

park in your driveway. If you leave 

your car at home, park it as you nor-

mally would. Vehicles parked outside 

should be moved occasionally to ap-

pear that they are being used.     

Secure storage sheds, attic entrances 

and gates.     

Tell your local police you plan to be 

away. Patrol officers may have the 

opportunity to periodically check 

your home.     

Engrave your valuables as recommend-

ed in Operation I.D. This simple step 

will allow your stolen property to be 

identified and returned to you if recov-

ered by the police.     

Travel Safely!     

If you are driving, make sure your ve-

hicle has been properly serviced and is 

in suitable condition for the journey.    

Try to have specific directions and 

routes to your destination.     

If you get lost, call the local police for 

directions and assistance.     

Keep your vehicle doors and win-

dows locked.     

At stop lights and other traffic delays, 

leave enough space in front of your 

vehicle so that you have an escape op-

tion in case of an emergency.     

Let someone know the route you intend 

to travel and your itinerary. This will 

help authorities in locating you if there 

is a need to do so.     

Plan your trip carefully and allow for 

factors such as weather, fatigue, facili-

ties for lodging, food and fuel.     

Be sure you have sufficient finances, 

either cash, travelers checks or credit 

cards.     

Ask the hotel or motel staff about their 

security measures so you know what to 

expect.  

Use the hotel safe to store your valua-

bles during your stay. 

And upon returning home, should you 

discover that your home has been dam-

aged or broken into, please remember 

the following: 

Don’t enter a home that has been bur-

glarized. The perpetrator may still be 

inside. 

Call the police immediately!  Please 

don’t wait even if it appears that things 

are safe or that nothing is taken. 

Don’t touch anything. As hard as it 

may be, wait until police arrive before 

trying to determine if anything is miss-

ing or damaged. Trace evidence could 

be lost or destroyed. 

The key is crime prevention but it’s 

best to be prepared should the worst 

happen.  As the saying goes, an ounce 

of prevention is worth a pound of cure.  

Happy Traveling! 

Going On Vacation? - Help Burglars 

Take One Too!     

An empty house is a tempting target for 

a burglar. Use this checklist of tips to 

help safeguard your home while you're 

away: 

Have good locks on all doors and win-

dows, and USE THEM!     

Ask a neighbor to watch the house 

while you're away. It's a good idea to 

leave your vacation address and 

phone number with a neighbor so 

you can be reached in an emergency.    

Never leave your house key hidden 

outside your home.  Leave a spare 

key with a neighbor or trusted 

friend.    

Stop all deliveries, or arrange for a 

neighbor to pick up your mail, newspa-

pers and packages.     

Arrange for someone to mow your 

lawn, rake leaves and maintain the yard 

to give the home a lived in look.     

Plug in timers to turn lights and a radio 

or television on and off at appropriate 

times. This helps to disguise the fact 

that you're away.     

Turn the bell or ringer on your tele-

phone down low. If a burglar is around, 

he won't be alerted to your absence by 

a ringing phone.     

Don't announce your absence on an-

swering machine messages or through 

social networking like Facebook and 

Twitter..     

Leave your blinds, shades and curtains 

in a normal position. Don't close them 

unless that is what you do when you 
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V OLU ME  2,  ISSU E 1  

What’s the law? 

 At intersections controlled by ordi-

nary traffic signals, pedestrians 

must obey the same signals as 

drivers traveling in the same direc-

tion.  

 Pedestrians should not start to 

cross during a red or yellow signal; 

 When crossing with a green signal, 

pedestrians have the right of way 

over all vehicles, including those 

turning across the paths of the pe-

destrians;  

 If a traffic signal changes to yellow 

or red while any pedestrian re-

mains in the street, drivers must 

allow the pedestrian to complete 

the crossing safely. 

 At intersections without traffic 

signals, pedestrians have the right 

of way if they are in marked cross-

walks or in unmarked crosswalks 

formed by imaginary lines extend-

ing from the sidewalks across the 

streets. 

 At mid-block crosswalks with no 

traffic signal, drivers must yield 

the way to pedestrians in the cross-

walk. (N.C. General Statute 20-

173) 
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Pedestrian Crosswalks 
 At intersections with special 

“Walk” or “Don’t Walk” signals, 

pedestrians must obey these sig-

nals. 

 Pedestrians crossing with special 

pedestrian signals have the right of 

way just as they do while crossing 

with a green light. 

 If you are moving through an 

intersection with a green signal and 

a pedestrian starts to cross in your 

path against the red signal, give a 

warning with your horn. 

 The law requires drivers to use the 

horn whenever a pedestrian 

may be affected by a turn, 

stop or start from a parked posi-

tion. If the pedestrian does not 

stop, the driver must. 

Saving a pedestrian’s life is always 

worth the driver’s lost right of way. 

The safe driver yields right of way to 

a pedestrian whether the pedestrian 

is entitled to it or not. 

Safety is a Shared Responsibility 

 When you’re driving: 

 Yield to people in crosswalks. 

 Before making a turn, be sure the 

path is clear of people walking. 

 Look behind your vehicle for peo-

ple before backing up. 

 Keep an eye out for people walk-

ing at night. 

When you’re walking: 

 Look for cars in all directions—

including those turning—before 

crossing the street.   

 Obey all pedestrian traffic signals. 

 At night, walk in well-lit areas, 

carry a flashlight, or wear some-

thing reflective to be more vis-

ible. 

 Watch for cars backing up in park-

ing lots. 

 Cross the street where you have 

the best view of traffic. At bus 

stops, cross behind the bus or at 

the nearest crosswalk. 

 Always walk on the sidewalk; if 

there is no sidewalk, walk facing 

traffic and as far from the road as 

you can. 



The Southern Shores Police Department supports the core of Community 

Policing, and accepts its definition as both a philosophy and an organiza-

tional strategy that will allow the police and the community to work close-

ly together. Together, we will work to establish and maintain mutual trust 

among all entities to improve the quality of life while enforcing the law.  
 

We are committed to being a leading community-oriented department. 

 
We are committed to being recognized as leaders in our profession by 

providing quality, customer focused, problem solving services in partner-

ship with the community we serve.  
 

We are committed to ensuring that police and the community share the 
responsibility for finding workable solutions to problems that detract from 

community safety and security. 

 
We are committed to have open and honest communications both internal-

ly and externally. 
 

We are committed to making sure that with each contact with the public, 

we treat each person with dignity and a sense of professionalism. 
 

We are committed to excellence in all professional endeavors, maintaining 

high ethics, and striving to be the best in all we do. 

5375 N. Virginia Dare Trail 

Southern Shores, NC 27949 

SOUTHERN SHORES POLICE  

DEPARTMENT  

Phone: 252-261-3331 

Fax: 252-261-4851 

E-mail: infopd@southernshores-nc.gov 

Integrity, Honor, Respect, 
Professionalism 

www.tosspd.com 

Law Enforcement History 

1930 
The single deadliest year in law enforcement history, with 282 

officers killed.  
 

 

If you have a rental home, please feel free to 

print a copy of this newsletter and display it in 

your home. This is valuable information that 

renters and guests need to know, particularly 

first time visitors. Thank you! 


